Department of Public Safety

Department of Public Safety


The Department of Public Safety is one of the oldest organizational units of the Faculty of Law Enforcement. Its legal predecessor, the Police College, has been participating in police officer training since the establishment of the institution. The last nearly five decades have brought several changes in the life of our department both in its terms of structure and name. We started our educational activity under the name of the Military Department in 1971. From 1976, it continued its functioning as the Department of Public Safety and Transport. In 1980, the name of the department was changed to the Department of Public Safety and Physical Education. In 1991, the Physical Education, Self-Defence and Shooting Training Division became independent and it was given the name of the Department of Public Order and Transport. After the reorganization of the college in 1994, the Department of Administrative Police was separated from the organization of the Department of Political Science and Administrative Police and integrated into our department. At the same time, our tasks have expanded with the implementation of the basic and shooting training of the students and the supplementation of the Training Section. Due to another reorganization, the Training and Organization Department was established in 1997 and the Training Section was abolished from our department. As a result, the tasks were transferred to the activities of the aforementioned department. Another significant change occurred when the college was founded, the transport department - which traditionally belonged to the organization of the Department of Public Order - became independent. January 1, 2006 the Department of Public Safety was established by merging the Department of Traffic Policing and the Department of Public Order. The Department of Public Safety is responsible for the professional subjects of the Bachelor's Degree Program in Law Enforcement, and the Master's Degree Program in Law Enforcement Leaders.


Head of Department of Public Safety

The Head of the Department of Public Safety is Dr. Róbert Major, Police Colonel, and Associate Professor. He has been working as a transport engineer, a lawyer and the Head of the Department since 2009. He specializes in traffic policing and traffic law. He is a member of the Coordinating Board of the National Accident Prevention Committee of the National Police Headquarters. He is also a member of the Board of the Hungarian Society for Transport Sciences, a Chairman of the Public Safety Section of the Hungarian Association of Police Science.Contact Information


Contact Information

Department of Public Safety

Postal address: 1441 Bp. Pf. 60. (P.O. Box)

Office: 1083 Budapest, Üllői út 82., University of Public Service Educational Centre, Room Nr. 334.


Telephone: 00 36 1 432 9057/19-305

Head of Department: Dr. Bence Mészáros PhD, pol. colonel, associate university professor

Secretariat: Judit Gájer